The New Economy

My first job out of college, back in the 1980’s, I started as a temp at a Fortune 500 company, and after a couple of months they offered to hire me full time. But they refused to give me an offer letter with the particulars, and my father had told me to get an offer letter, so after some heated discussions I left and took a job, at a competitor that was willing to give me an offer letter. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not overly rigid or obsessive compulsive, but I try to be responsible, and weigh risks against rewards. Why am I relating this? Because times have changed.

A Job from a Nigerian Prince?

Over the years I’ve worked all kinds of ways: part-time, contractor, self employed, employee… but now I may be working for a Nigerian Prince. I’ve just ended a traditional employee gig to start a new job. I think there’s a new job… I mean YES there’s a new job starting Monday.

For the new job, I’ll be working full time from home. I’ve never physically met the people employing me. The interviews we all video. I know the company name, and product I’m supposedly working on, but don’t have any tangible proof the people that hired me work there other than the some of their email domains match. The contracts were all done by online forms. Initially I’ll be working through an agency at an hourly rate. Never met anyone from that agency either. Spoken with them by phone. Nice people. They asked me for a laptop spec of my choice, which they say is being shipped to me.

Why would the guy that walked away from a fortune 500 company because they wouldn’t give him an offer letter make this leap of faith? I had a job. I’m not desperate.

Well…

  • I’m tired of relocating to urban areas I don’t much like chasing jobs that aren’t all that special.
  • The promised work I believe is the most exciting I’ve ever been offered.
  • The pay is noticeably better.
  • No commute.
  • Work from home.
  • The people I’ve dealt with so far are great, and they too are in the same situation so I can’t imagine this will be a corporate culture where optics are more valued then results.

So yeah, either I’m about to embark on an exciting and great opportunity… or I’ve fallen for a Nigerian Prince scam. I’ll know which when I cash the first check I guess. Times have changed.

Postscript

The job worked out great. Still there. Happy. Likely to convert to employee.

Leave a comment