Life Allegories…

If you’ve ever had to share knowledge with another, perhaps you’ll agree, that simply stating what you believe is the conclusion is rarely effective.  With science you often need to engage the listener in the steps to arrive at the conclusion, and with matters of life you try to engage the listener in the journey you took to find your conclusion. The proverb, “give a man a fish and you feed him for a day; teach a man to fish and you feed him for a lifetime” seems to vaguely apply.  Simply providing a conclusion might feed them in the moment, but engaging them in the path to the conclusion may actually provide them with something useful forever.

I’ve always believed the above, and since I was a child loved a well told story that’s a life allegory.  It’s a skill I’ve tried to develop for myself, the telling of a good story. I won’t say I’ve mastered it, but I will say that some of my personal experiences, as I relate them, listeners have seemed to enjoy.

So, if you come to my blog for technical info, don’t leave in disgust. I’ve not found a religion or some such, I’m just posting a few non technical pieces to cleanse my palate. You can easily ignore the pieces tagged “Non Tech”.  But if you wish, you can indulge me and read them and maybe enjoy the diversions as well.

Leave a Reply

